Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Byrnes '34 Archives Finding Aids

The Byrnes '34 Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible materials relating to the history of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. This guide provides insight into what the Archives holds in its collections.

Rudolph H. Blythe Papers

Finding Aid

Collection Name: Rudolph H. Blythe Papers

Room/Shelf-Row:  101C/B-5 & C-1      Box Label:  Rudolph H. Blythe Papers

Type of materials (papers/notebooks/photos/etc.):  papers, photos, certificates, newspaper clippings

Dates:

Quantity (linear feet): 1 ft

Description (briefly describe what is included):

            Rudolph H. Blythe, class of 1931, is best known for his invention of time-release capsules. He was also nominated for a Nobel Prize, founded the Pharmaceutical Research division of SmithKline & French, and established the Rudolph and Dorothy Blythe Research Fund at ACPHS in 2000 with a gift of $1 million.

Among other things, this collection includes a copy of his patent for time-release capsules, awards, speeches, certificates, photos, and articles. Also, a Board of Pharmacy State of Florida Registered Pharmacist certificate is located in the oversized storage.

Arrangement (alphabetical/chronological/etc.):  Chronological

Contents per box (folder labels & number of folders per label):

  • Box 1 (1951-1969): 5 folders
    1. Rudolph H. Blythe Papers and Talks (1934-1950)
    2. Rudolph H. Blythe Papers and Talks (1951-1959) including one undated
    3. Rudolph H. Blythe Papers and Talks (1960)
    4. Rudolph H. Blythe Papers and Talks (1965-70)
    5. Rudolph H. Blythe Papers and Talks (1950-2000)
  • Box 2:  5 folders
    1. Rudolph H Blythe – Grades
    2. Rudolph H Blythe – CV
    3. Rudolph H Blythe – University of Florida
    4. Rudolph H. Blythe – awards
    5. Rudolph H. Blythe - Photographs
    6. Rudolph H. Blythe – ACP alumni
    7. Rudolph H. Blythe – Rudolph and Dorothy Blythe Research Fund at ACPHS
    8. Rudolph H. Blythe – Smith Kline Beckman / Smith Kline and French
    9. Rudolph H. Blythe – Kappa Psi
    10. Rudolph H. Blythe – Correspondence (1952-1977)