Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Byrnes '34 Archives Finding Aids

The Byrnes '34 Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible materials relating to the history of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. This guide provides insight into what the Archives holds in its collections.

Collection Name: Mortar & Pestle

Room/Shelf-Row: 101C/A-2 – A-3       Box Label: ACP Publications Mortar & Pestle

 

Type of materials (papers/notebooks/photos/etc.): student newspapers

Dates: 1928 – 2011

Quantity (linear feet):  3 ft

Description (briefly describe what is included):

             Weekly newspapers written by the students of ACP. Includes greetings to new students and faculty, upcoming activities/events, updates in fraternities, class news, sports, student editorials, local advertisements, and eventually crosswords.

Arrangement (alphabetical/chronological/etc.): Chronological

Contents per box (folder labels & number of folders per label):

  • Box 1 (1928 – 1935): 9 folders
    1. Mortar & Pestle – ephemera
    2. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 1 – 1928-29
    3. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 2 – 1928-29
    4. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 3 – 1929-30
    5. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 4 – 1930-31
    6. Mortar & Pestle – vol. IV (second vol. 4) – 1931-32
    7. Mortar & Pestle – vol. V (vol. 5) – 1932-33
    8. Mortar & Pestle – vol. VI (vol. 6) – 1933-34
    9. Mortar & Pestle – vol. VII (vol. 7) – 1934-35
  • Box 2 (1948 – 1969): 21 folders
    1. Mortar & Pestle – vol. V – 1948-49
    2. Mortar & Pestle – vol. VII – 1950-51
    3. Mortar & Pestle – vol. VIII – 1951-52
    4. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 25 – 1952-53
    5. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 26 – 1953-54
    6. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 27 – 1954-55
    7. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 28 – 1955-56
    8. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 29 – 1956-57
    9. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 30 – 1957-58
    10. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 31 – 1958-59
    11. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 32 – 1959-60
    12. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 33 – 1960-61
    13. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 34 – 1961-62
    14. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 1 (vol. 35?) – 1962-63
    15. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 36 – 1963-64
    16. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 37 – 1964-65
    17. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 38 – 1965-66
    18. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 39 – 1966-67
    19. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 40 – 1967-68
    20. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 41 – 1968-69
    21. Newspaper Award (‘62/’63)
  • Box 3 (1969 – 1980): 12 folders
    1. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 32 (should be vol. 42) – 1969-70
    2. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 33 (should be vol. 43) – 1970-71
    3. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 34 (should be vol. 44) – 1971-72
    4. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 35 (should be vol. 45) – 1972-73
    5. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 36 (should be vol. 46) – 1973-74
    6. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 35 (should be vol. 47) – 1974-75
    7. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 36 (should be vol. 48) – 1975-76
    8. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 49) – 1976-77
    9. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 50) – 1977-78
    10. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 51) – 1978-79
    11. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 52) – 1979-80
    12. (No label): contains Mortar & Pestle papers (1985-89)
  • Box 4 (1980 – 1993): 15 folders
    1. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 53) – 1980-81
    2. (No label): contains Mortar & Pestle papers (1983-85)
    3. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 54) – 1981-82
    4. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 55) – 1982-83
    5. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 56) – 1983-84
    6. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 57) – 1984-85
    7. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 58) – 1985-86
    8. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 59) – 1986-87
    9. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 60) – 1987-88
    10. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 61) – 1988-89
    11. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 62) – 1989-90
    12. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 63) – 1990-91
    13. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 64) – 1991-92
    14. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 65) – 1992-93
    15. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 66) – 1993-94
  • Box 5 (1993 – 2003): 9 folders
    1. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 67) – 1994-95
    2. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 68) – 1995-96
    3. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 69) – 1996-97
    4. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 70) – 1997-98
    5. Mortar & Pestle – vol. unnumbered (should be vol. 71) – 1998-99
    6. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 72 – 1999-2000
    7. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 73 – 2000-01
    8. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 74 – 2001-02
    9. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 75 – 2002-03
  • Box 6 (2004 – 2011): 8 folders
    1. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 76 – 2003-04
    2. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 77 – 2004-05
    3. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 78 – 2005-06
    4. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 79 – 2006-07
    5. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 81 (should be vol. 80) – 2007-08
    6. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 82 (should be vol. 81) – 2008-09
    7. Mortar & Pestle – vol. 83 (should be vol. 82) – 2009-10

Mortar & Pestle – vol. 84 (should be vo