Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Byrnes '34 Archives Finding Aids

The Byrnes '34 Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible materials relating to the history of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. This guide provides insight into what the Archives holds in its collections.

Collection Name: ACP Commencement

Room/Shelf-Row: 101C/A-5 – 6           Box Label: ACP Commencement Bulletins  

 

Type of materials (papers/notebooks/photos/etc.): event programs, photos, notes

Dates: 1882 - Present

Quantity (linear feet):  3.5 ft

Description (briefly describe what is included):

             Albany College of Pharmacy held its first graduation ceremony in February of 1882.  Three students graduated with the degree of Graduate in Pharmacy.  In 2008, the school officially changes its name to Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (ACPHS) to better reflect its expanding range of academic programs. ACPHS now offers BS, MS, and PharmD degrees. In each box is a copy from every commencement, some folders include pictures of students and faculty present.

Arrangement (alphabetical/chronological/etc.): Chronological

Contents per box (folder labels & number of folders per label):

  • Box 1 (1882 – 1929): 47 folders and copies of each year’s commencement; missing 1890
  • Box 2 (1930 – 1949): 19 folders for each year; some include invitations to, notes from, and/or the speeches given at the event.
  • Box 3 (1950 – 1971): 22 folders for each year; some include invitations to, notes from, and/or the speeches given at the event. Also includes a few newspaper articles.
  • Box 4 (1972 – 1978): 7 folders for each year; some include invitations to, notes from, and/or the speeches given at the event. Also includes notes regarding the planning for the event. Several photos from newspapers and later on B&W prints (1976 -78)
  • Box 5 (1979 – 1981): 3 folders; some include invitations to, notes from, and/or the speeches given at the event. Also includes notes regarding the planning for the event. Several photos (B&W prints) of the graduates at the event
  • Box 6 (1982 – 2014): 35 folders and copies of each year’s commencement
  • Box 7 (2015 – Present): 3 folders; copies of each commencement