Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACPHS Library Services: LibWire Library News

October 2022 News

Begin at the Library

With the arrival of the cooler weather, you'll find a quiet place to study, take a break and restore in the library.

Make sure to visit our chalkboard and vote for your favorite Halloween candy! The winning candy will be available for your enjoyment in the Library the week before trick or treating!


You Asked, We Listened

A recent suggestion in our comments box read:

Could you please allow for students to get study rooms even if they are just 1 person?

We responded by opening up study rooms #2 and #5 to individual users. Stop by the User Services Desk to check out a key.


What's New... Activities for taking a break

Our games went into storage during COVID, but they are back out now and ready for you. On the first floor we have checkers, chess, cards, adult coloring supplies and more.

We also just added new ebooks and audiobooks to our Overdrive collection for leisure reading and listening. Check our collection here: https://acphslibrary.overdrive.com/

Resource of the Month

ACPHS Library Services now has access to SciFinder-n!

SciFinder-n is the next generation of SciFinder. Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) has replaced the old version with a new interface, mobile accessibility, and added new tools.  SciFinder-n is still the most comprehensive database for chemical literature, searching Chem Abstracts, ChemZent databases and CAplus. SciFinder includes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. With the combined coverage of the CAplus and MEDLINE databases, it is the only source that provides information from early discovery through clinical trials.

New features include PatentPak links to additional international patents, access to MethodsNow synthesis/Retrosynthesis Plan, enhanced visual citation mapping, searchable NMR spectra, and touchscreen enabled structure drawing with ChemDoodle.

If you already have a SciFinder account, you do not need to set up a new account to access SciFinder-n.   You can access and login to SciFinder-n from the database drop-down menu on the Library homepage. If you are new to SciFinder, register here and start taking advantage of this premier research tool.

Miniature Pharmacy

A miniature pharmacy is on now on permanent display in the library near the main entrance. The pharmacy was commissioned by Art Muldoon '72 to honor his late wife, Wendy Muldoon '72. The pharmacy was dedicated over Alumni Weekend.

Other reunion events in the library included a display of yearbook and other photos from our Archives for the attending classes as well as a pictorial journey of the ACPHS campus across its history.

Upcoming Events

SEE OUR FULL CALENDAR HERE

Faculty Corner

Faculty Orientations

Join us to learn about library resources and services that will help with your teaching, research, and publication activities. You will also meet your library liaison as well as library staff. This orientation to open to new faculty as well as those who would like a refresher. All are welcome!

There will be a morning and afternoon session.

10 am-10:45 am  CLICK AND REGISTER

3 pm-3:45 pm      CLICK AND REGISTER

Spotlight on... Open Access Week

October 24 - 30 is International Open Access Week. This year's theme is open access for climate justice.