Skip to main content

ACPHS Library Services: For Students

Librarian Assistance

Librarians can assist you with developing research strategies for a specific project, using databases, and identifying appropriate information sources on your topic. We are also available to answer questions about citation styles, and effective, time saving web search techniques.

Librarian assistance is available Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm in Albany and Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm in Vermont.

Evening and weekend staff are eager to assist you with certain questions and issues. If your matter requires referral to a librarian you will receive an email from a librarian on the morning of the next business day.

To contact a librarian visit our Ask Us page.

Study Rooms

Group study rooms are available in the Library and Information Commons during their hours of operation. The following guidelines ensure fair and appropriate use of the study rooms in the Library and Information Commons.

  • The rooms are provided for groups of 2 or more individuals for the purpose of studying and meeting and are not intended for individual use.
  • Keys to the rooms are checked out at the Service Desk on a first-come, first-served basis. In Albany Room 5 may be reserved in advance.
  • A valid ACPHS ID is required to check out a room.
  • There is a 3-hour limit per group and the room must be occupied during this time. Renewals are possible only if no other group is waiting for the room and may be requested only at the conclusion of the 3-hour loan period.
  • The key is the sole responsibility of the user to whom it is checked out. The member of the group who checks out the key is also responsible for the group and the condition of the room.
  • Keys will be issued as a 3-hour reserve item and reserve fines are applicable.
  • If the key is not returned there will be a replacement fee of $30.00
  • Group study room users must maintain a moderate noise level - rooms are not soundproof, and loud talking disturbs other users in adjoining rooms and outside the rooms.
  • When leaving the room remove your trash, turn out the lights, lock & close the door, and then return the key to the Service Desk.
  • Failure to follow these rules may result in the immediate relinquishment of the room.

SGA Leisure Collection

The Albany SGA provides DVDs, games, and books for students to enjoy. Students may borrow up to two items at a time for two weeks. Fines for overdue SGA resources are $0.50 per day and help pay for new items for the collection. Damaged or lost items will be replaced by the person who checked them out.

Popular magazines are available to read in the Library.

DVDs, games, and books are searchable on the Library Catalog (For a full list of movie titles:  Click on Reserve Desk > Search For "movie" > Click on Lookup Items on Reserve by Course Name).

Direct Access Program

Albany students, faculy, and staff may borrow from other libraries in New York's Capital District. The Direct Access Program (DAP) allows our library users in good standing to borrow materials directly from participating libraries throughout the region.

You must have a DAP card to borrow from participating libraries. Cards are issued at the Lewis Library Services Desk Monday-Friday, 8:00 am – 4:30 pm.

Some libraries will only lend to certain groups, such as faculty or graduate students. Please be sure to check in advance. You are responsible for abiding by the rules and regulations of each of the libraries from which you borrow.

Click here for more information on DAP, including a list of participating libraries and their lending levels.

Both Albany and Vermont students also may borrow directly from select other libraries. For more information click here.

Theses

The Library places all approved ACPHS masters theses in its collection. Masters students, please read Guidelines for Thesis Preparation and Thesis Defense.This document, created by the ACPHS School of Graduate Studies, contains a comprehensive list of expectations that must be met to fulfill your thesis requirement, including: thesis and preparation and format, as well as what to expect during your actual oral thesis defense.

Once you have completed your thesis defense you are expected to submit it online and have copies bound in print format for the Library. Detailed instructions for this process are outlined in the Online Thesis Submission handout.

ACPHS students, faculty, and staff may access theses from the Paul Byrnes ’34 Archives during the normal operating hours of the library.  Theses may not leave the library and must be returned to a library staff member (i.e. not left on the front desk).

If you have any questions, please contact the Archivist at 518-694-7274 or gwen.weldy@acphs.edu