Library Services: Drug Information: Books

Drug Information - Print & Online Books from the Collection

This page contains a select list of books by topic to help support your drug information needs.

Comprehensive Drug Compendia | Adverse Effects | Compounding/Formulations | Dietary Supplements

Search ACPHS and beyond

Discovery

Comprehensive Drug Compendia

Drug monographs vary in depth and breadth. Below are listed some of the most commonly used drug monograph sources. Explore them all to find the one that best suits your needs. Additional drug monograph sources can be found in the Drug Information Databases section of this guide.

Drug Facts and Comparisons 2017 by Facts and Comparisons Staff
Call Number: QV 772 D79 2017 REF
ISBN: 9781574393767
Publication Date: 2016-10-29
Drug Facts and Comparisons provides up-to-date information on over 22,000 Rx and 6,000 OTC products grouped by therapeutic category for ease of comparison. Drug Facts and Comparisons answers questions about actions, indications and contraindications, warnings and precautions, drug interactions, adverse reactions, administration and dosage, and pregnancy and lactation. Comparisons include drug to drug, dosage forms, and name brands to name brands and generics. Biologicals and antiparasitic drugs, IV solutions, and therapeutic ophthalmic preparations are also included. Key Features: -Over 22,000 Rx and 6,000 OTC products, including generic and trade names -More than 3,000 easy-to-read charts and comparative tables
AHFS® Drug Information 2021 by American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
Call Number: QV 740 AA1 A56 2021
ISBN: 9781585286546
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
Comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs by Anne L. Hume; Carol J. Rollins; Karen J. Tietze; Daniel L. Krinsky; Stefanie P; Ferreri; Brian A. Hemstreet
Call Number: EBOOK and QV 772 H36 2020 RES
ISBN: 9781582123172
Publication Date: 2021-05-30
Authoritative resource for students and for health care providers who counsel and care for patients undertaking self-treatment-nonprescription drugs, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary therapies. Its goal is to develop the knowledge and problem-solving skills needed to assess a patient's health status and current practice of self-treatment, to determine whether self-care is necessary or appropriate, and, if appropriate, to recommend safe and effective self-care measures.

Adverse Effects

In addition to the books listed in the Comprehensive Drug Compendia section of this guide, the following books will be helpful in finding information on Adverse Effects.

Side Effects of Drugs Annual
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 03786080
This annual publication provides a reliable and critical yearly survey of new data and trends in the area of adverse drug reactions and interactions.

Compounding/Formulations

Remington: The Science and practice of pharmacy
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780128223895
Publication Date: 2020
Reviews the theory and practice of the pharmaceutical sciences.
The Merck Index
Call Number: QV 772 M44 2013 REF
ISBN: 9781849736701
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.
USP/NF: The United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary
Call Number: QV 738 AA1 U55S REF + ONLINE
The United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary (USP–NF) is a book of public pharmacopeial standards. It contains standards for (chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations), excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements.
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations by Lawrence A. Trissel; Lisa D. Ashworth; Jay Ashworth; American Pharmacists Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: EBOOK and QV 754 T746 2018 REF
ISBN: 9781582122960
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Compiles all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations. Based on data published over the past 60 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies.
Handbook of Extemporaneous Formulations by Rita K. Jew; Winson Soo-Hoo; Sarah C. Erush; Elham Amiri; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781585285242
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Since its first publication, this book has been the go-to guide for treating patients who require any of the 80% of medications not commercially available in appropriate forms or dosages for paediatric, geriatric, or special needs populations. Now even more comprehensive, the third edition provides the same evidence-based formulation in easy-to-follow "recipes" for 197 nonsterile formulations, 39 of which are new, and two of which have been updated for this edition. Each "recipe" includes ingredients; preparation details and instructions; storage conditions; special instructions; alternatives; expiration dates; references; and documented stability data. An invaluable resource for practitioners and compiled by experts in the field, this book provides the best guidance you can get for the care you want to give.
Ansel's Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems
Call Number: QV 785 A618P 2018 RES + ONLINE
ISBN: 9781496347282
Comprehensive source on pharmaceutical dosage forms and drug delivery systems.
Extemporaneous Formulations for Pediatric, Geriatric, and Special Needs Patients by Rita K. Jew; Winson Soo-Hoo; Elham Amiri; Jamie Gomes
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781585286515
Publication Date: 2021-10-30
The go-to guide for treating patients who require medications that are not commercially available in appropriate forms or dosages for pediatric, geriatric, or special needs. Evidence-based formulations in easy-to-follow "recipes" for 312 formulations. Each "recipe"includes: ingredients, preparation details and instructions, storage conditions, special instructions, alternatives, expiration dates, references, and documented stability data.
The Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding by Loyd V. Allen
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781582123578
Publication Date: 2020-10-30

Dietary Supplements

In addition to the books listed in the Comprehensive Drug Compendia section of this guide, the following books will be helpful in finding information on Dietary Supplements.

Review of Natural Products
Call Number: QV 752 R484 2014 REF
ISBN: 9781574393682
Current natural product information with 400 in-depth monographs.
Natural standard herb and supplement guide:
Call Number: QV 735 .N278 2010
ISBN: 032307295X
Monographs include uses, dosage information, safety considerations, and interactions with drugs and other herbs and supplements.

Dosage

In addition to the books listed in the Comprehensive Drug Compendia section of this guide, the following books will be helpful in finding information on Dosage Recommendations.

Red Book
Call Number: E-BOOK MICROMEDEX
Use to find the latest drug product pricing and packaging information on prescription and over-the-counter drug products
American Drug Index 2016
Call Number: QV 772 A55 2015 REF
ISBN: 1574393693
Drug listing includes composition, strength, dosage form, packaging, schedule, and usage for approximately 22,000 brand and official USP generic drugs.

Foreign Equivalents

Martindale: The complete drug reference
Call Number: QV 738 FA1 M384 2020 REF ALB
ISBN: 9780857113672
Martindale's provides reliable and evaluated information on drugs and medicines used throughout the world.

The contents of Martindale is also available online through Micromedex.

Interactions

In addition to the books listed in the Comprehensive Drug Compendia section of this guide, the following books will be helpful in finding information on Dosage Recommendations.

Drug Interaction Facts 2015
Call Number: QV 38 D68 2015 REF
ISBN: 9781574393637
Review potential interactions by class or generic/trade names; onset, severity, and clinically significant interaction data are provided along with effects, mechanisms, and management options.
Drug Interaction Analysis and Management 2014
Call Number: QV 38 .H3 REF
ISBN: 1574393642
Each monograph includes a ranking system indicating the level of patient risk. Also contains a summary, risk factors, related drugs, management options, and references.
Stockley's Drug Interactions by Claire L. Preston
Call Number: QV 38 S763 2019 REF
ISBN: 9780857113474
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Stockley's Drug Interactions, edited by Claire L Preston, remains the world's most comprehensive and authoritative international reference book on drug interactions. Based upon thousands of published papers and reports it: * Covers interactions between therapeutic drugs, proprietary medicines, herbal medicines, foods, drinks, and drugs of abuse * Contains in-depth yet concise monographs in an easy-to-read format * Provides comprehensive details of the clinical evidence for the interactions under discussion, an assessment of their clinical importance, and clear guidance on managing the interaction in practice * Has a brief summary of the interaction in each monograph - perfect for the busy healthcare professional * Is fully referenced throughout * Is global in coverageNew in the 12th edition are over 300 new monographs, with reviews and updates for the existing 4500 monographs.

Pharmacokinetics

Applied Biopharmaceutics and Pharmacokinetics
Call Number: QV 38 S531A RES & Online
ISBN: 9780071603935
Provides foundation in the basic principles of pharmacokinetics and biopharmaceutics.

Pharmacology

Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological basis of therapeutics
Call Number: QV 4 G6 2018 RES & Online
ISBN: 9781259584732
Authoritative resource bridging the discipline of pharmacology with therapeutics by describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781260452310
Publication Date: 2020-12-05

Special Populations

In addition to the books listed in the Comprehensive Drug Compendia section of this guide, the following books will be helpful in finding information on drug information for special populations.

Geriatric Dosage Handbook
Call Number: QV 735 S45 REF & Online
ISBN: 9781591953289
Contains geriatric-sensitive information throughout each drug monograph, including extensive content on drug interactions and drug dosing in the elderly and adults. Content aslo available online in Lexi-Comp.
The Harriet Lane Handbook: A Manual for Pediatric House Officers by Johns Hopkins Hospital; Keith Kleinman; Lauren McDaniel; Matthew Molloy
Call Number: WS 100 H3 2021 REF
ISBN: 9780323674072
Publication Date: 2020-05-07
Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology in pediatrics. Contains information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment of pediatric patients.
Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by Gerald G. Briggs; Roger K. Freeman; Craig V. Towers; Alicia B. Forinash
Call Number: WQ 210 B7 2022 REF
ISBN: 9781975162375
Publication Date: 2021-04-30
Drug Prescribing in Renal Failure
Call Number: QV 16 .D794 2007 & ONLINE
ISBN: 1930513763
Guide to drug-dosing for patients with impaired renal function.
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by Donald C. Plumb
Call Number: SF 917 P734 2018 REF
ISBN: 9781119344452
Publication Date: 2018-02-21

Stability/Compatibility

Handbook on Injectable Drugs
Call Number: WB 354 T837H 2017 REF
ISBN: 9781585285594
Each injectable drug monograph provides compatibility, stability, storage and preparation data.
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
Call Number: WB 354 K52 ONLINE
Injectable drug compatibility and stability reference.
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations
Call Number: EBOOK and QV 754 T746 2018 REF
ISBN: 9781582122960
Publication Date: 2018
Compilation of all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations.
Remington by Adeboye Adejare (Editor)
Call Number: QV 704 R4 2020 REF
ISBN: 9780128223895
Publication Date: 2020-11-03

Therapeutic Use

In addition to the books listed in the Comprehensive Drug Compendia section of this guide, the following books will be helpful in finding information the therapeutic use of drugs.

Conn's Current Therapy 2022 by Rick D. Kellerman; David Rakel; KUSM-W Medical Practice Association
Call Number: WB 300 C8 2022 REF
ISBN: 9780323833783
Publication Date: 2022-01-07
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2021 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow
Call Number: WB 100 C81 2021 REF
ISBN: 9781260469868
Publication Date: 2020-09-10
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine 20th ed
Call Number: E-Book
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Robert S. Porter (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: WB 100 M47 2018 REF + ONLINE
ISBN: 9780911910421
Information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders
Applied Therapeutics by Caroline S. Zeind; Michael G. Carvalho
Call Number: WB 330 A653 2018 RES
ISBN: 9781496318299
Publication Date: 2017-12-27
Pharmacotherapy a Pathophysiologic Approach by Joseph T. DiPiro; Robert L. Talbert; Gary Yee; Barbara Wells; L. Michael Posey
Call Number: WB 330 P5357 2019 REF + Online
ISBN: 9781260116823
Publication Date: 2019