Library Services: HIS 140: Early American History: Open Access Sources

Open Access Resources

The Avalon Project
Yale collection of documents in law, history and diplomacy
Digital Public Library of America
Free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Materials in the collection include books, photographs, maps, sound and video recordings, oral histories, personal letters.
Discovering American Women’s History Online
An online database of photos, letters, diaries, and documents about women in American from 1600 to the present.
Documenting the American South - North American Slave Narratives
books and articles that document the individual and collective story of Black people struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of self-emancipated and formerly enslaved people published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920
Eyewitness
Fighting For Freedom: The Role of Black Soldiers in America's First Century
A selection of primary source documents, including: official records; addresses and speeches; acts, bills and orders; military correspondence and documents; personal correspondence and narratives; prints and photos; and maps.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes historic photographs, presidential papers, and more
Records of the American Colonies
Hathi Trust collection of the American Colonies Published documents--legislation, court proceedings, records, correspondence, etc.--from the 13 original colonies and their predecessors.
University of Minnesota Immigration History Research Center
Audio files of immigrant stories and digitized letters.

Archival Research Catalog
Online of the National Archives, featuring U.S. government documents from 1722-1996, pamphlets, court records, photographs, and political cartoons.
The Avalon Project
Yale collection of documents in law, history and diplomacy
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society: Cornerstone Documents (Articles of Confederation, the Federalist Papers, and more) From Cornette Library at Texas A&M University.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Official historical records of major U.S. foreign policy decisions, from the Departments of State and Defense, the CIA, other foreign agencies, and private individual papers. This is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1957
A compendium from the U.S. Census Bureau which includes more than 8,000 statistical time series which cover periods from 1610 to 1957.
New York State Military Museum and Veterans Research Center

African American Historical Newspapers Online
This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.
Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr Jr.
Four volume set of Revolutionary-era Boston newspapers and pamphlets collected, annotated, and indexed by Harbottle Dorr, Jr., a shopkeeper in Boston. From the Massachusetts Historical Society
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Newspaper (Library of Congress)
This site searches Library of Congress digital collections that include newspapers.
NYS Historic Newspapers
Provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.