Ansel's Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems by 
Martin's Physical Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences by 
Aulton's Pharmaceutics by
Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in all of pharmaceutical science. In brief, it is concerned with the scientific and technological aspects of the design and manufacture of dosage forms or medicines. An understanding of pharmaceutics is therefore vital for all pharmacists and those pharmaceutical scientists who are involved with converting a drug or a potential drug into a medicine that can be delivered safely, effectively and conveniently to the patient. Now in its fourth edition, this best-selling textbook in pharmaceutics has been brought completely up to date to reflect the rapid advances in delivery methodologies by eye and injection, advances in drug formulations and delivery methods for special groups (such as children and the elderly), nanomedicine, and pharmacognosy. At the same time the editors have striven to maintain the accessibility of the text for students of pharmacy, preserving the balance between being a suitably pitched introductory text and a clear reflection of the state of the art. provides a logical, comprehensive account of drug design and manufacture includes the science of formulation and drug delivery designed and written for newcomers to the design of dosage forms New to this edition New editor: Kevin Taylor, Professor of Clinical Pharmaceutics, School of Pharmacy, University of London. Twenty-two new contributors. Six new chapters covering parenteral and ocular delivery; design and administration of medicines for the children and elderly; the latest in plant medicines; nanotechnology and nanomedicines, and the delivery of biopharmaceuticals. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout.
Physicochemical Principles of Pharmacy by
An established textbook that provides you with full coverage of the physicochemical principles essential to the modern pharmacist and pharmaceutical scientist.
This sixth edition has a broad chemical and physicochemical base and covers every aspect of drug properties from the design of dosage forms to their delivery by all routes to sites of action in the body. Now with more clinical examples, new questions and extra case studies.
Modern Pharmaceutics, Fifth Edition, Volume 1 by
With over 100 illustrations, Volume 1 addresses the core disciplines of pharmaceutics, such as absorption, PK, excipients, tablet dosage forms, and packaging, and explores the new challenges and paradigms of pharmaceutics. Key topics in Volume 1 include:
Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing by
Pharmacists have been responsible for compounding medicines for centuries. Designed as a reference to extemporaneous formulae, this is a guide to the theory and practice of extemporaneous compounding and dispensing. It deals with producing extemporaneous formulations safely and effectively.
Gibaldi's Drug Delivery Systems in Pharmaceutical Care by
It is important to make therapeutics a critical component of teaching about dosage forms and to make dosage forms and drug delivery systems an integral part of therapeutics. This book will be the first to focus on the therapeutic impact of drug dosage forms. Tying together concepts of traditional pharmaceutics with therapeutics, Drug Delivery Systems in Pharmaceutical Care demonstrates how the modern clinical pharmacist can integrate knowledge in pharmaceutical sciences and therapeutics with appreciation of patient needs and nuances to advise on preferable and optimal product choices. Each chapter represents a collaboration of a clinical pharmacist practitioner and a pharmaceutical scientist. This unique perspective takes the science of dosage form design and helps translate the theory into the pragmatic. Special Features: Case studies and problems to help students get a better understanding of concepts Well-organized chapters with outlines and objectives Summary tables and helpful figures, along with reasonable compilations of original references Final sections with 'Learning Points' that reinforce essential material. Foreword by William J. Jusko, PhD, Professor and Chair, University of Buffalo, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Theory and Practice of Contemporary Pharmaceutics by
With a shift toward problem-based learning and critical thinking in many health science fields, professional pharmacy training faces a shift in focus as well. Although the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) has recently suggested guidelines for problem solving to be better integrated into pharmacy curriculum, pharmacy books currently available either address this material inadequately or lack it completely. Theory and Practice of Contemporary Pharmaceutics addresses this problem by challenging pharmacy students to think critically in preparation for situations that arise in clinical practice. This book offers a wealth of up-to-date information, organized in a logical sequence, corresponding to the art and science required for formulators in industry and dispensing pharmacists in the community. It breaks down the subject to its simplest form and includes numerous examples, case studies, and problems. In addition to presenting basic scientific principles, each chapter includes a self-evaluation tutorial designed to help you evaluate your understanding of the subject matter, numerical problems that provide practice in finding mathematical solutions, and case studies that measure your overall grasp of the subject matter by challenging you to craft a plausible solution to a real-life scenario using the concepts presented in that chapter. Written by authors selected from academia, industry, and regulatory agencies, the book presents an objective and balanced view of pharmaceutical science and its application. The authors' insights are extremely helpful to pharmacy students as well as practicing pharmacists involved in the development and/or dispensation of existing and new generation biotechnology-based drug products. This simplified and user-friendly book will present pharmaceutics in a way that it has never been presented before and will help prepare students and pharmacists for the competitive and challenging nature of the professional market.
Pharmaceutical Calculations by
Master the fundamental calculations principles and basic techniques you need to know for successful pharmacy practice! Thoroughly reviewed by practitioners, and educators, this 15th Edition maintains high standards for both academic and basic practice requirements, while offering the most comprehensive and in-depth coverage of pharmacy calculations available. A consistent, step-by-step approach makes it easy to work through the problems and gain a greater understanding of the underlying concepts. New co-author Shelly Stockton brings her experience in pharmacy practice and expertise in teaching pharmaceutics and pharmacy calculations to this edition. Hundreds of new problems, including many current products and select product labels directly linked to example problems. NEW Authors' Extra Points provide brief explanations of underlying subjects such as pharmacopeias, electronic prescriptions, drug names, and the regulation of pharmacy compounding. NEW section on equianalgesic dosing for narcotic analgesics, including dosing tables. Student-friendly features like in-chapter example problems with step-by-step solutions; end-of-chapter practice problems with answers; Case-in-Point features with clinical or pharmaceutical case studies; Calculations Capsules with boxed summaries of chapter calculations; CalcQuiz sections with unsolved problems for review; and Comprehensive Review Problems for a final self-assessment.
Remington by 
Applied Physical Pharmacy by
A UNIQUE PRACTICE-ORIENTED INTRODUCTION TO PHYSICAL PHARMACY Applied Physical Pharmacy explores the fundamental physicochemical properties and processes important for understanding how drugs are transformed into usable and stable drug products that release their drug upon administration, and for understanding the different processes that the released drug may encounter on its way to its pharmacological target prior to being eliminated by the body. Applied Physical Pharmacy begins with a review of key biopharmaceutics concepts of drug liberation, absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion. These concepts, which describe the fate of the drug in the body, set the framework for subsequent chapters that describe physicochemical properties and processes such as states ofmatter, solutions, ionization, dissolution and partitioning, mass transport, complexation, and protein binding. Concepts in these chapters are important for not only understanding a drug's fate in the body, but also for providing a scientific basis for rational drug formulation and usage. Other physical pharmacy topics important to drugformulation are discussed in the chapters that follow, which describe dispersed systems, rheology, and interfacial phenomena. The book concludes with an overview of the principles of kinetics that are essential to understanding the rates at which many of the processes discussed in previous chapters occur. To facilitate learning, chapters are enhanced by Learning Objectives, Key Points, Problems, and Clinical Questions. To make the book as relevant to real-world practice as possible, this edition includes an increased number of clinical examples and applications.