Health Outcomes Research: Data Sets

An entry portal for Centers for Disease Control and Prevention statistics, tools, and resources

A single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems, both local and external, categorized by topic

Research, statistics, data & systems from the CMS.

Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Department of Health and Human Services' iniative to make the vast array of data resources it curates openly available for public consumption.

ACPHS portal to locating health statistics

HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources.

Current information on the progress of the Health Outcomes Survey (HOS) program and the full spectrum of Medicare HOS data and reports.

NCI-sponsored tools, studies, and data on patient-centered outcomes of cancer care delivery across the cancer care continuum including, morbidity and mortality outcomes, patient symptoms and health-related quality of life (HRQOL), patient experience of and satisfaction with health care, and social and economic consequences of cancer care.

Principle health statistics agency for U.S. Complies statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve health.

Quick access to the National Center for Health Statistics topics of public health importance, organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages

Key statistics about CMS programs and national health care expenditures. The CMS Data Compendium contains historic, current, and projected data on Medicare enrollment and Medicaid recipients, expenditures, and utilization. Data pertaining to budget, administrative and operating costs, individual income, financing, and health care providers and suppliers are also included.

Drug prices by country from the University of Tokyo

The Health Care Cost Institute is an independent, nonprofit entity committed to creating the nation’s most comprehensive source of information on health care costs and utilization, and promoting research on the drivers of escalating health care costs and utilization in the U.S.

The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP, pronounced "H-Cup") is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

This dataset lists charges to Medicare and reimbursements from Medicare. May be used to convert costs to charges.

Average wholesale and federal prices for drugs.

Data from the World Health Organization's CHOosing Interventions that are Cost-Effective project, including costs and effects of a wide range of health interventions in the 14 epidemiological sub-regions.

The National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NAMCS) is a national survey designed to meet the need for objective, reliable information about the provision and use of ambulatory medical care services in the United States.

Information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals across the country. Use Hospital Compare to find hospitals and compare the quality of their care.

A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS data cover health care use and spending, insurance coverage, and accessibility of care.

The 2007 National Home and Hospice Care Survey (NHHCS) is one in a continuing series of nationally representative sample surveys of U.S. home health and hospice agencies. It is designed to provide descriptive information on home health and hospice agencies, their staffs, their services, and their patients.

The National Hospital Discharge Survey (NHDS), which was conducted annually from 1965-2010, was a national probability survey designed to meet the need for information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay hospitals in the United States. Data from the NHDS are available annually and are used to examine important topics of interest in public health and for a variety of activities by governmental, scientific, academic, and commercial institutions.

The National Nursing Home Survey (NNHS) is a continuing series of national sample surveys of nursing homes, their residents, and their staff.

Search for for specific incidence and prevalence data sets in the Health Statistics Subject Portal.

In a MeSH search add the subject heading "prevalence" or the subheadings, “economics”, “epidemiology,” “prevalence,” or “statistics & numerical data.” These terms can also be searched as keywords.

CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) is an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large.

ACPHS portal to locating health statistics

The National Vital Statistics System is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which NCHS collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics. These data are provided through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.

The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.

International data and statistics provided by the World Health Organization.

WHO-CHOICE assembles regional databases on the costs, impact on population health and cost-effectiveness of key health interventions. It also provides a contextualization tool which makes it possible to adapt regional results to the country level.

Drug prices by country from the University of Tokyo

Promotes the science of pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research and facilitates the translation of this research into useful information for healthcare decision-makers

Average wholesale and federal prices for drugs.

International professional society that aims to advance the scientific study of health-related quality of life and other patient-centered outcomes to identify effective interventions, enhance quality of health care and promote the health of populations.

The free version of this database helps the user identify quality of life instruments designed for specific populations and 25 different pathologies/diseases.