Health Statistics

An entry portal for Centers for Disease Control and Prevention statistics, tools, and resources

A single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems, both local and external, categorized by topic

The County Health Rankings show the rank of the health of nearly every county in the nation based on a variety of measures that affect health such as the rate of people dying before age 75, high school graduation rates, unemployment, limited access to healthy foods, air and water quality, income, and rates of smoking, obesity and teen births.

Health and human services related data and statistics resources supported by the HHS, other federal agencies, states, and local governments. Access statistics by disease, disorder or health status; risk factors; health care services; population, and more

Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. HCUP data are used for research on hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes

Department of Health and Human Services' iniative to make the vast array of data resources it curates openly available for public consumption.

National health statistics tables from the CDC that can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns

Portal to a wide variety of sources on health data.

Interactive state-level data set comprised of behavioral risk factors and health indicators.

A data hub of community health data, indicators, and interventions. Indicators can be sorted by topic, geography, or initiative.

Health insurance data from the Annual Social and Economic Supplement (ASEC) to the Current Population Survey and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP). Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau

Data repositories, health, statistics, and tools from the National Information Center of Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR), National Library of Medicine

CDC data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments. Also reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, disasters, occupational diseases, and injuries

Principle health statistics agency for U.S. Complies statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve health.

Quick access to the National Center for Health Statistics topics of public health importance, organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages

Results from studies in behaviors and attitudes in key areas of American life including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.

Results of a nationwide government survey released in December 2008

Search portal for U.S. government sites. Results are clustered by topic

Data from a variety of compilations and surveys by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Kaiser Family Foundation site that presents data from a variety of public and private sources and organized by country or topic. Also includes a tool to create customizable data sheets by country and indicator

The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 World Health Organization datasets including mortality and burden of diseases, child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation, non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.

Links to statistics collecting agencies for 200 countries. Page by the U.S. Census Bureau

An interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 World Health Organization Member States. It comprises more than 70 indicators. Find statistics by topic, disease, condition, country, or region

The County Health Rankings show the rank of the health of nearly every county in the nation based on a variety of measures that affect health such as the rate of people dying before age 75, high school graduation rates, unemployment, limited access to healthy foods, air and water quality, income, and rates of smoking, obesity and teen births.

Shows the number of people diagnosed with cancer (cancer counts) for the years 2003-2007 in small geographic areas of New York State. Locations of certain environmental facilities can also be viewed.

New York State Department of Health statistics organized by topic. Also includes access to NYS vital statistics

List of state agencies that report health statistics by the Department of Health and Human Services

Cancer statistics, interactive maps, and links from the National Cancer Institute

Up-to-date health data and vital statistics for all 50 states

Quick access to statistics on population, geography, business, with pull-down menus by state

Access to vital statistics from the New York Department of Health

Annual statistics for cardiovascular diseases, including coronary heart disease, stroke and high blood pressure. Also includes data on risk factors, nutrition, quality of care, medical procedures and economic cost

Morbidity, mortality, and economic cost data for cardiovascular, blood, and lung diseases

Search by health topic. Links to statistical information, if available, are contained in the Reference Shelf

Quick access to cancer statistics from the National Cancer Institute

Statistics compiled by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health

Statistics on kidney and urologic diseases compiled by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health

Comprehensive research data supported by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Agency

Cancer statistics, interactive maps, and links from the National Cancer Institute

Collects information on incidence, survival, and prevalence of cancer from specific geographic areas representing 26 percent of the US population. Compiles reports on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire U.S.

A fact sheet compiling basic prescription drug statistics collected from various U.S. government sources

By year, lists top 200 brand drugs by retail dollars, generic drugs by retail dolloars, OTC/HBC brands, brand drugs by units, generic drugs by units, drugs used in hospitals

Report includes data on the number of novel drugs brought to market and timelines for the drug review process.

Data Tables include prescription drugs data for overall expenditure and utilization (Total Medical Expenditures), expenditure and utilization by medical conditions (Expenditures by Medical Conditions), and the top 10 drugs (Prescription Drugs). Analytical tools help you generate your own estimates by selecting prescription drug expenditures.

Report by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project.

Per capita spending on prescriptions and average price for prescription drugs.

This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search.

Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection. Page by the Partners for Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Extensive online portal to health statistics sources.

Guide to finding health statistics, including a glossary of statistical terms.

Index to a wide variety of online statistical resources. Page by the University of Michigan Library Documents Center

An interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 World Health Organization Member States. It comprises more than 70 indicators. Find statistics by topic, disease, condition, country, or region