HIS 141: Modern American History

Yale collection of documents in law, history and diplomacy

A selection of recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s

Free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Materials in the collection include books, photographs, maps, sound and video recordings, oral histories, personal letters.

An online database of photos, letters, diaries, and documents about women in American from 1600 to the present.

books and articles that document the individual and collective story of Black people struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of self-emancipated and formerly enslaved people published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920

pen access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Includes historic photographs, presidential papers, and more

Interactive and animated map representations of historical problems, events and developments.

Audio files of immigrant stories and digitized letters.

Digitized primary source documents in women's involvement in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. From Harvard University.