Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Zotero: In-Text Citations & Bibliographies

Insert Citations & Bibliography While you Write

The Zotero plug-in that you downloaded adds a Zotero toolbar to Word that allows you to add citations and a bibliography to your document while  you write 

Adding Citations
  • Click on the Zotero tab within Word
  • Click the button (Add/Edit Citation) on the toolbar.
  • Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter
Insert a Bibliography
  • At the end of your paper, click the Insert Bibliography button.
  • Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically

 

Create a Quick Bibliography

​Create a Bibliography from your Zotero Library
  • Select the references or collections you want to include.
  • Hold the control key and click to select multiple items.
  • Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.
  • Choose the bibliographic style you want, and select the output format: Save as RTF or HTML, copy to clipboard, or print.

Easier method... just drag and drop references from Zotero directly into your document and the references will turn into fully formatted citations. 

IMPORTANT:   Be sure to always check your references.  Automatically generated bibliographies are never perfect.

How do I Change the Citation Style?

When you first start inserting citations into a Word document, you need to choose a citation style.  If you  want to later use a different citation style, you can make this change by using the “document preferences” icon.  Click this icon and select a new style from the menu.  The change will automatically be reflected in your Word document.