PSC 451 - Scientific Literature Evaluation - Medical Cannabis: Books

Cannabinoid Pharmacology, Volume 80 is a new volume in the Advances in Pharmacology that presents reviews of recent breakthroughs. This volume aims to present current knowledge of the endogenous cannabinoid system, and looks at molecular, cellular, tissue and organismal effects of endogenous and exogenous cannabinoids. Topics of note in this new volume include Endocannabinoids and their congeners, Endocannabinoid turnover, Plant cannabinoids, Synthetic cannabinoids and 'legal highs', CB1 and CB2 cannabinoid receptors, Novel signaling modalities, Novel cannabinoid receptors, and Ion channel regulation by cannabinoids. There is a broad coverage of the essential elements associated with the cannabinoid system. The Editors have sought to include authors who represent authoritative voices on these themes, but have not previously worked together to allow a fresh approach to the individual aspects covered. Presents reviews of recent breakthroughs in the cannabinoid system Features chapters from the best authors in the field Provides an essential resource for scientists, advanced undergraduate students through to established faculty members

The Endocannabinoid System: Genetics, Biochemistry, Brain Disorders, and Therapy examines the cellular, biochemical, genetic, and therapeutic aspects of the endocannabinoid system. The chapters cover significant conceptual advances in the endocannabinoid field and shed light on the many brain disorders in which this biological system is involved. Written by world-leading experts in the field, the topics covered in this book will have a positive impact on the area of molecular biology, including, but not limited to, cell biology, neuroscience, pharmacology, signaling, disease mechanisms, and therapeutics. Provides an introduction to endocannabinoids in the central nervous system and an overview to their functions in the brain Presents information on neurobiological and cellular studies on the role of the cannabinoid signaling system and its implications in human diseases Includes well-written overviews of the basics of endocannabinoid system structure and function Contains well-illustrated material, with diagrams, charts, and tables Explores compelling case studies and their application to chapters written by experts

The cannabis plant has been used for recreational and medicinal purposes for more than 4,000 years, but the scientific investigation into its effects has only recently yielded useful results. In this book, Linda Parker offers a review of the scientific evidence on the effects of cannabinoids on brain and behavioral functioning, with an emphasis on potential therapeutic uses. Parker describes the discovery of tetrahydocannbinol (THC), the main psychoactive component of cannabis, and the further discovery of cannabinoid receptors in the brain. She explains that the brain produces chemicals similar to THC, which act on the same receptors as THC, and shows that the endocannabinoid system is involved in all aspects of brain functioning. Parker reports that cannabis contains not only the psychoactive compound THC, but also other compounds of potential therapeutic benefit, and that one of them, cannabidiol (CBD), shows promise for the treatment of pain, anxiety, and epilepsy. Parker reviews the evidence on cannabinoids and anxiety, depression, mood, sleep, schizophrenia, learning and memory, addiction, sex, appetite and obesity, chemotherapy-induced nausea, epilepsy, and such neurodegenerative disorders as multiple sclerosis and Alzheimer's Disease. Each chapter also links the scientific evidence to historical and anecdotal reports of the medicinal use of cannabis. As debate about the medical use of marijuana continues, Parker's balanced and objective review of the fundamental science and potential therapeutic effects of cannabis is especially timely.

Handbook of Cannabis and Related Pathologies: Biology, Pharmacology, Diagnosis, and Treatment is the first book to take an interdisciplinary approach to the understanding of cannabis use and misuse. Recent worldwide trends toward decriminalizing marijuana for medical use have increased legal use of the drug and recreational use remains high, making cannabis one of the most commonly used drugs. Cannabis has a wide range of adverse neurological effects, and use and abuse can lead to physical, social, and psychopathological issues that are multifarious and complex. Effective understanding and treatment requires knowledge of the drug's effects from across scientific disciplines. This book provides an overview of the biological and pharmacological components of the cannabis plant, outlines its neurological, social, and psychopathological effects, assists in the diagnosis and screening for use and dependency, and aids researchers in developing effective treatments for cannabis-related issues and disorders. Fully illustrated, with contributions from internationally recognized experts, it is the go-to resource for neuroscientists, pharmacologists, pathologists, public-health workers, and any other researcher who needs an in-depth and cross-disciplinary understanding of cannabis and its effects. Comprehensive chapters include an abstract, key facts, mini dictionary of terms, and summary points Presents illustrations with at least six figures, tables, and diagrams per chapter Provides a one-stop-shopping synopsis of everything to do with cannabis and its related pathology, from chemicals and cells, individuals and communities, and diagnosis and treatment Offers an integrated and informed synopsis of the complex issues surrounding cannabis as a substance, its use, and its misuse

A volume in the Emerging Issues in Analytical Chemistry series, The Analytical Chemistry of Cannabis: Quality Assessment, Assurance, and Regulation of Medicinal Marijuana and Cannabinoid Preparations provides analytical chemistry methods that address the latest issues surrounding cannabis-based products. The plethora of marketed strains of cannabis and cannabinoid-containing products, combined with the lack of industry standards and labelling requirements, adds to the general perception of poor quality control and limited product oversight. The methods described in this leading-edge volume help to support the manufacturing, labelling, and distribution of safe and consistent products with known chemical content and demonstrated performance characteristics. It treats analytical chemistry within the context of the diverse issues surrounding medicinal and recreational cannabis in a manner designed to foster understanding and rational perspective in non-scientist stakeholders as well as scientists who are concerned with bringing a necessary degree of order to a field now characterized by confusion and contradiction. The Emerging Issues in Analytical Chemistry series is published in partnership with RTI International and edited by Brian F. Thomas. Please be sure to check out our other featured volumes: Hackney, Anthony C. Exercise, Sport, and Bioanalytical Chemistry: Principles and Practice, 9780128092064, March 2016. Tanna, Sangeeta and Lawson, Graham. Analytical Chemistry for Assessing Medication Adherence, 9780128054635, April 2016. Rao, Vikram, Knight, Rob, and Stoner, Brian. Sustainable Shale Oil and Gas: Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Geochemistry Methods, 9780128103890, forthcoming September 2016. Farsalinos, Konstantinos, et al. Analytical Assessment of e-Cigarettes: From Contents to Chemical and Particle Exposure Profiles, 9780128112410, forthcoming November 2016. Addresses current and emerging analytical chemistry methods-an approach that is unique among the literature on this topic Presents information from a broad perspective of the issues in a single compact volume Employs language comprehensible to non-technical stakeholders as well as to specialists in analytical chemistry

This book highlights current Cannabis research: its botany, authentication, biotechnology, in vitro propagation, chemistry, cannabinoids biosynthesis, metabolomics, genomics, biomass production, quality control, and pharmacology. Cannabis sativa L. (Family: Cannabaceae) is one of the oldest sources of fiber, food and medicine.  This plant has been of interest to researchers, general public and media not only due to its medicinal properties but also the controversy surrounding its illicit use. Cannabis has a long history of medicinal use in the Middle East and Asia, being first introduced as a medicine in Western Europe in the early 19th century. Due to its numerous natural constituents, Cannabis is considered a chemically complex species. It contains a unique class of terpeno-phenolic compounds (cannabinoids or phytocannabinoids), which have been extensively studied since the discovery of the chemical structure of tetrah ydrocannabinol (Δ9-THC), commonly known as THC, the main constituent responsible for the plant's psychoactive effects. An additionally important cannabinoid of current interest is Cannabidiol (CBD). There has been a significant interest in CBD and CBD oil (extract of CBD rich Cannabis) over the last few years because of its reported activity as an antiepileptic agent, particularly its potential use in the treatment of intractable epilepsy in children.

The book presents the current state of the art on phytocannnabinoid chemistry and pharmacology and will be of much use to those wishing to understand the current landscape of the exciting and intriguing phytocannabinoid science. The focus is on natural product cannabinoids which have been demonstrated to act at specific receptor targets in the CNS.

Thisvolume encompasses all major methodologies to interrogate endocannabinoidsystems (ECS) and endocannabinoids (eCBs) signaling. With increasing interesttowards the manifold activities of eCBs, this book discusses the chemical,biochemical, and molecular biological assays, and activity of distinct elementsof the ECS. These include membrane, nuclear receptors, biosynthetic andhydrolytic enzymes, and membrane transporters and oxidative enzymes. Written inthe highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format,chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of thenecessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratoryprotocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Timely and cutting edge, Endocannabinoid Signaling: Methods and Protocolsis a valuable resource and will help chemists, drug designers, biochemists,molecular biologists, cell biologists, pharmacologists, and (electro)physiologists navigate the mare magnum of endocannabinoid research.

There is currently considerable interest in the development of medicines that would enhance endocannabinoid-induced "autoprotection", for example through inhibition of endocannabinoid metabolizing enzymes or cellular uptake processes or that would oppose endocannabinoid-induced "autoimpairment". This volume describes the physiology, pathophysiology and pharmacology of the endocannabinoid system and potential strategies for targeting this system in the clinic.

Cannabinoids and Their Receptors, Volume 593, the latest release in the Methods in Enzymology series, continues the legacy of this premier serial with quality chapters authored by leaders in the field. This updated volume includes comprehensive chapters on a variety of topics, including Real time cAMP signaling in response to CB1 activation, CB1 signaling in mitochondria, Lipidomics of cannabinoid systems, Studying endocannabinoid transport, Metabolic profiling of CB1 neutral antagonists, Approaches to assess biased signaling at the CB1 receptor, and the Development of CB1 allosteric modulators. Continues the legacy of this premier serial with a new and updated release Covers research cannabinoids and their receptors

In Cannabis Pharmacy, expert Michael Backes offers evidence-based information on using cannabis to treat an array of ailments and conditions. He provides information on how cannabis works with the body's own system, how best to prepare and administer it, and how to modify and control dosage. This newly revised edition is now completely up-to-date with the latest information on the body's encannabinoid system, which is now understood to control emotion, appetite, and memory, delivery and dosing of cannabis, including e-cigarette designs, additional varietals, and a new system for classification, as well as 21 additional ailments and conditions that can be treated with medical marijuana. There are currently more than 4.2 million medical cannabis patients in the United States, and there are 29 states plus the District of Columbia where medical cannabis is legal.

Significant changes have taken place in the policy landscape surrounding cannabis legalization, production, and use. During the past 20 years, 25 states and the District of Columbia have legalized cannabis and/or cannabidiol (a component of cannabis) for medical conditions or retail sales at the state level and 4 states have legalized both the medical and recreational use of cannabis. These landmark changes in policy have impacted cannabis use patterns and perceived levels of risk. However, despite this changing landscape, evidence regarding the short- and long-term health effects of cannabis use remains elusive. While a myriad of studies have examined cannabis use in all its various forms, often these research conclusions are not appropriately synthesized, translated for, or communicated to policy makers, health care providers, state health officials, or other stakeholders who have been charged with influencing and enacting policies, procedures, and laws related to cannabis use. Unlike other controlled substances such as alcohol or tobacco, no accepted standards for safe use or appropriate dose are available to help guide individuals as they make choices regarding the issues of if, when, where, and how to use cannabis safely and, in regard to therapeutic uses, effectively. Shifting public sentiment, conflicting and impeded scientific research, and legislative battles have fueled the debate about what, if any, harms or benefits can be attributed to the use of cannabis or its derivatives, and this lack of aggregated knowledge has broad public health implications. The Health Effects of Cannabis and Cannabinoids provides a comprehensive review of scientific evidence related to the health effects and potential therapeutic benefits of cannabis. This report provides a research agendaa "outlining gaps in current knowledge and opportunities for providing additional insight into these issuesa "that summarizes and prioritizes pressing research needs.