ACPHS Preceptor's Information Resources Guide: Mobile Medical Apps

MedCalc enables professionals to easily use complicated medical formulas, scores and classifications.
Device: Apple iPhone
Cost: Free

Brings over 230 medical calculations and scoring tools to your fingertips
Device: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android
Cost: $4.99

Access 129 medical calculators covering formulas, scales, and classifications. Plus, 600+ drug references have integrated dosing calculators.
Device: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire
Cost: Free

Mobile version of the Lab Tests Online® website developed by laboratory professionals.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire
Cost: $0.99

Provides clinical guidance for interpreting Urine Drug Screens by Immunoassay.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, PC/MAC. Note: Coming soon to Android.
Cost: $10.00 (free for ACPHS students).
Current ACPHS Students: email jeffrey.fudin@remitigate.com from @acphs.edu address

Provides access to 320 lab values plus lab panels.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows
Cost: $2.99

Patients can create, update, or view their medication schedules, and set or receive medication reminders.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Android
Cost: Free

Medication manager and pill reminder that lets patients create, track, and share medication records using a secure, HIPAA-compliant cloud server.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iPod, Android
Cost: App is free but MyMeds is a subscription based product that costs $9.99/year.

Facilitates communicates with patients using translated medical phrases in Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Hindi, Korean, Malay, Portuguese, Russian, Tagalog, Vietnamese, and more.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Android
Cost: Free basic version.

Medical interpretation/translation app for healthcare providers.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad
Cost: Free

Free version provides basic drug information. Epocrates Essentials provides additional decision support tools including practice guidelines,
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android.
Cost: Free for basic version, $159/year for Epocrates Essentials

Provides drug and clinical information. Includes interaction checker, IV compatibility, calculators, drug ID tools and more.
Devices:
Cost: $285/year (More/less expensive packages are available)

Provides content beyond the package insert such as off-label indications, dosing recommendations, therapeutic class, administration, monitoring, toxicology, clinical teaching, etc. Additional features available through separate apps.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Android, Windows 8
Cost: $2.99

Decision support tool for pharmacists that contains thousands of clinical situations and diseases integrated with the entire AHFS DI Essentials® database.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android
Cost: $254.95/year (More/less expensive packages are available)

Created by physicians, DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical resource for use at the point of care.
Device: Apple iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Android
Cost: App is free. Subscription is $199.95/year

Johns Hopkins POC-IT Antibiotic (ABX) provides up-to-date, information on infectious diseases, drugs, and pathogens written by the experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Android, Windows, Web.
Cost: $39.95

Medscape provides access to medical news, drug information & tools, and disease & condition information.
Device: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire
Cost: Free

Omnio Reference Suite includes a drug guide, a disease guide, a medical calculator suite, and a library of free specialty resources.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android
Cost: Free with in app purchases available

The free Skyscape app comes a package of medical resources, including drug information, medical calculators and clinical information on over 850 topics.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iPod, Android, Other Android devices.
Cost: Free with in app purchases available.

An evidence-based clinical resource for use at point of care. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug interactions information, and a number of medical calculators.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Android, Windows
Cost: App is free, subscription is $499/year

Helps practioners interpret urine drug test results from an immunoassay test performed
at the point of care or a laboratory.
Devices: Apple iPhone, iPad, Android
Cost: $14.99