Library Services: Humanities: Art & Architecture Topics: General Reference

Getting Started

These online resources can be used to find background material on your topic.

Oxford Art Online
A great place to start your art history research. Search major art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including the 34-volume, The Dictionary of Art. Also includes links to over 40,000 images from museum and gallery websites all over the world.

Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Artcyclopedia
Directory of online art resources from around the world. Searchable by movement, medium, subject, nationality, title, and artist name.
Art History Resources
The most comprehensive directory of art and art history resources on the Web; This site, maintained by Christopher Witcombe at Sweet Briar College includes, prehistoric art, ancient art, art of the middle ages, renaissance art, baroque, 18th-century art, 19th-century art, 20th-century art, non-European art, research resources, museums & galleries, and prints & photographs.

Art History by Stokstad, Marilyn
Call Number: N 5300 S764 REF, Vols. 1 & 2
ISBN: 9780205744206
Publication Date: 2011
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art by Chilvers, Ian
Call Number: N 6490 C544 REF
ISBN: 9780199239658
Publication Date: 2009
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras by Bleiberg, Edward
Call Number: NX 440 .A787 2005 REF Vols.1-5 & E-Book
ISBN: 9780787656959
Publication Date: 2004
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Horowitz, Maryanne Cline
Call Number: CB 5 D5 2005 REF Vols. 1-6 & E-Book
ISBN: 9780684313771
Publication Date: 2004
A Global History of Architecture by Ching, Francis D. K.
Call Number: NA 200 C546 REF
ISBN: 9780470402573
Publication Date: 2010
A World History of Architecture by Fazio, Michael
Call Number: NA 200 F294 2008 REF
ISBN: 9780071544795
Publication Date: 2008