SOC 335: Global Health: Web Sites

CDC's Center for Global Health coordinates and manages the agency's resources and expertise to address global challenges such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, emergency and refugee health, non-communicable diseases, injuries, and more.

Provides data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. Also includes information on demography, socioeconomic conditions, and environmental factors

highlights global health issues and concerns, brings together multiple perspectives, promotes evidence-based policy, disseminates research, and coordinates communications.

sustainable projects that identify, acquire, preserve, access, disseminate, and create unique resources for higher education research. ncludes newsletter on global Focus on Global Resources

The Kaiser Family Foundation's global health gateway brings together original policy analysis and research from the Foundation, provides the new daily news synthesis, tracks legislation through a new Policy Tracker, and features fact sheets, country-level data through Kaiser's Global Health Facts, and more.

The NIH is the nation's medical research agency and supports both domestic and international health discoveries and endeavors.

Resource that focuses on social and economic issues, including health issues, that affect children across the world.

The website includes information on global health topics, profiles of member countries, global health data and statistics, and WHO publications, programs, and projects.

access to various databases containing information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide held and managed by the Section of Cancer Information (CIN) of the International Agency for Cancer Research.

WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.

provides the latest comparable data and trends on different aspects of the performance of health systems in OECD countries, including indicators of health status and health risks and inputs/outputs of health care systems.

This interactive map provides a wide variety of data and statistical information on a country-by-country basis. It also allows for comparisons.

This is a portal into the United Nations statistical databases.

An annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations.

Provides a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe,

Data summaries for the member nations of WHO.

Presents several statistics and charts by tables, maps and diagrams, (country focus).

The CDC blog is a comprehensive and well-rounded source of global health information and resources.