APPE/IPPE Information Resources : Consumer Health Resources

Daily coverage of breaking medical news. Links consumer medical news with medical analysis and primary resources. Physician-reviewed articles include news summaries, but also actionable information and perspective for both clinicians and consumers

A consumer health magazine presenting reliable, up-to-date health information including the latest breakthroughs from NIH-supported research. Articles feature people from all walks of life talking about how they've handled their health challenges.

The FDA gateway for clinically important safety information and reporting of serious problems with human medical products.

Geared towards consumers this site provides links to government resources to help answer regulatory and drug-related questions.

A gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.

Provides educational information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products.

Owned and operated by WebMD, RxList is an online medical resource offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.

Comprehensive consumer-level overviews of diseases and conditions. Includes definitions, symptoms, causes, when to seek medical advice, tests and diagnosis, complications, treatments and drugs, prevention, lifestyle and home remedies.

At the consumer level, the Merck Manual explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.

Written in language for the lay person, JAMA Patient Pages are illustrated one-page information sheets on various disease states and medical conditions. They give concise summaries of topics and often include information such as signs and symptoms, diagnosis and testing, treatment options, and places to go for further information

Produced by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) includes sections on Healthcare Management, Drug Information and Health Tools.

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the NIH and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.

A not-for-profit portal to medical information on the Internet. HON Search offers specialized medical search engines to facilitate consumer health searches and provide reliable and trustworthy results.

Managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, healtfinder.gov provides links to a resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring consumers reliable health information on the Internet.