Library Services: Chemistry: Spectra

Print Spectra Resources

Basic sources for spectra are still the Aldrich libraries and Sadler Handbooks. Search for your compound in these resources first.

Aldrich Spectra Handbooks
Aldrich IR, FT-IR and NMR handbooks. See ACPHS Library Reference, QD96.I5 (IR, NMR) and QC462.85.A44 (FT-IR)
Sadtler Spectra
Large collection of H-NMR, 13C-NMR, IR, UV spectra. Start with the indexes in ACPHS Reference (QD 96) ) to locate your spectra within the collections
Pharmaceutical Mass Spectra
A compilation of mass spectra of drugs, metabolites and other compounds of pharmaceutical interest. See ACPHS Library Reference, QC 454.M3 P527.

Online Spectra Resources

SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
Spectra for over 33,000 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR, MS, 13C-NMR and H-NMR. Allows you to enter peaks and shifts when searching for a compound.
NMRShiftDB
Search for NMR spectra, structures and properties of organic compounds
NIST Chemistry Webbook
National Institute of Standards and Technology's source book of chemical properties, structures, and spectral data. Includes, 16,000 IR spectra, 15,000 mass spectra, and 1,600 UV/Vis spectra.
Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
FT-IR and NMR spectra of most compounds in the catalog are available as PDF files. Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number.
Spectra Game
Test and practice your spectra reading skills.
Finding Chemical Spectra and Spectral Data: Web Sources
Comprehensive list of selected spectra resources compiled by the University of Texas.

General Spectra Resources

Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds by Silverstein, Robert
Call Number: QD 476 S5 2005
ISBN: 0471393622
Publication Date: 2005
Textbook for using spectroscopy to identify organic compounds.
NMR Spectroscopy Explained by Jacobsen, Neil E.
Call Number: QD 96 .N8 J33 2007
ISBN: 9780471730965
Publication Date: 2007
Spectroscopic Methods in Organic Chemistry by Hesse, Manfred
Call Number: QD 272.S6 H47 2008
ISBN: 9781588904881
Publication Date: 2007
Understanding Mass Spectra by Smith, R. Martin
Call Number: QC 454.M3 S64 2004
ISBN: 9780471429494
Publication Date: 2004
Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook by Patnaik, Pradyot
Call Number: QD 78 P276 2004
ISBN: 9780071410601
Publication Date: 2004
Detailed overviews of major analytical methods, including spectroscopy.
Mass Spectrometry Basics by Herber, tChristopher G.
Call Number: E-Book-CRC
ISBN: 9780849313547
Publication Date: 2003

Ask Us

JavaScript is required to use this feature.