Highly Commended at the BMA Medical Book Awards 2015 Mann's Pharmacovigilance is the definitive reference for the science of detection, assessment, understanding and prevention of the adverse effects of medicines, including vaccines and biologics. Pharmacovigilance is increasingly important in improving drug safety for patients and reducing risk within the practice of pharmaceutical medicine. This new third edition covers the regulatory basis and the practice of pharmacovigilance and spontaneous adverse event reporting throughout the world. It examines signal detection and analysis, including the use of population-based databases and pharmacoepidemiological methodologies to proactively monitor for and assess safety signals. It includes chapters on drug safety practice in specific organ classes, special populations and special products, and new developments in the field. From an international team of expert editors and contributors, Mann's Pharmacovigilance is a reference for everyone working within pharmaceutical companies, contract research organisations and medicine regulatory agencies, and for all researchers and students of pharmaceutical medicine. The book has been renamed in honor of Professor Ronald Mann, whose vision and leadership brought the first two editions into being, and who dedicated his long career to improving the safety and safe use of medicines.
This updated and revised 2nd edition of Drug Benefits and Risks is an inclusive reference exploring the scientific basis and practice of drug therapy. The key concept is to look at the balance between the benefits and risks of drugs, but in this context also highlighting the social impact which drugs have in modern societies. Taking an evidence-based approach to the problem, the practice of clinical pharmacology and pharmacotherapy in the developing as well as the developed world is examined. For this purpose the book covers general clinical pharmacology, pharmacology of various drug groups and the treatments specific to various diseases; the book gives guidance on how doctors should act so that drugs can be used effectively and safely; and it encourages the rational use of drugs in society. This publication brings together a large amount of excellent content that will be invaluable for anyone working within, or associated with, the field of clinical pharmacology and pharmacotherapy - undergraduates, postgraduates, regulatory authorities and the pharmaceutical industry.
Drug Safety Evluation Comprehensive and practical guide presenting a roadmap for safety assessment as an integral part of the development of drugs and therapeutics This fourth edition of Drug Safety Evaluation maintains the central objective of presenting an all-inclusive practical guide for those who are responsible for ensuring the safety of drugs and biologics to patients, healthcare providers, those involved in the manufacture of medicinal products, and all those who need to understand how the safety of these products is evaluated and shepherding valuable candidates to market. Individual chapters address specific approaches to evaluation hazards, including problems that are encountered and their solutions. Also covered are the scientific and philosophical bases for evaluation of specific concerns (e.g., carcinogenicity, development toxicity, etc.) to provide both understanding and guidance for approaching the new problems that have come to face both our society and the new challenges they brought. The many changes in regulatory requirements, pharmaceutical development, technology, and the effects of Covid on our society and science have required both extensive revision to every chapter and the addition of four new chapters. Specific sample topics covered in Drug Safety Evaluation include: The drug development process and the global pharmaceutical marketplace and regulation of human pharmaceutical safety Sources of information for consideration in study and program design and in safety evaluation Electronic records, reporting and submission, screens in safety and hazard assessment, and formulations, routes, and dosage regimens Mechanisms and endpoints of drug toxicity, pilot toxicity testing in drug safety evaluation, and repeat dose toxicity Genotoxicity, QSAR tools for drug safety, toxicogenomics, nonrodent animal studies, and developmental and reproductive toxicity testing An appendix which provides an up to date guide to CROs for conducting studies Drug Safety Evaluation was written specifically for the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries, including scientists, consultants, and academics, to show a utilitarian yet scientifically valid path to the everyday challenges of safety evaluation and the problem solving that is required in drug discovery and development.
This essential reference guide relates to pharmacovigilance of medicinal products for human use. It complements currently available EU legislation and guidance and provides practical advice to key stakeholders, in particular Marketing Authorisation Holders, about achieving an appropriate system of pharmacovigilance. Contents include: roles and responsibilities of the EEA Qualified Person for Pharmacovigilance; managing case reports and other safety information; ongoing evaluation of safety data; quality management aspects of pharmacovigilance; managing contracts and agreements; pharmacovigilance beyond the drug safety department. The Good Pharmacovigilance Practice Guide is the result of collaboration between different groups within the MHRA, including the GPvP Inspectorate, the Pharmacovigilance Group and the Clinical Trials Unit. By highlighting the areas in which inspection findings are commonly found and providing specific examples of good or poor practice, the guide can assist organisations in developing effective pharmacovigilance systems.
When considering the idea of using machine learning in healthcare, it is a Herculean task to present the entire gamut of information in the field of intelligent systems. It is, therefore the objective of this book to keep the presentation narrow and intensive. This approach is distinct from others in that it presents detailed computer simulations for all models presented with explanations of the program code. It includes unique and distinctive chapters on disease diagnosis, telemedicine, medical imaging, smart health monitoring, social media healthcare, and machine learning for COVID-19. These chapters help develop a clear understanding of the working of an algorithm while strengthening logical thinking. In this environment, answering a single question may require accessing several data sources and calling on sophisticated analysis tools. While data integration is a dynamic research area in the database community, the specific needs of research have led to the development of numerous middleware systems that provide seamless data access in a result-driven environment. Since this book is intended to be useful to a wide audience, students, researchers and scientists from both academia and industry may all benefit from this material. It contains a comprehensive description of issues for healthcare data management and an overview of existing systems, making it appropriate for introductory and instructional purposes. Prerequisites are minimal; the readers are expected to have basic knowledge of machine learning. This book is divided into 22 real-time innovative chapters which provide a variety of application examples in different domains. These chapters illustrate why traditional approaches often fail to meet customers' needs. The presented approaches provide a comprehensive overview of current technology. Each of these chapters, which are written by the main inventors of the presented systems, specifies requirements and provides a description of both the chosen approach and its implementation. Because of the self-contained nature of these chapters, they may be read in any order. Each of the chapters use various technical terms which involve expertise in machine learning and computer science.
Medical Data Sharing, Harmonization and Analytics serves as the basis for understanding the rapidly evolving field of medical data harmonization combined with the latest cloud infrastructures for storing the harmonized (shared) data. Chapters cover the latest research and applications on data sharing and protection in the medical domain, cohort integration through the recent advancements in data harmonization, cloud computing for storing and securing the patient data, and data analytics for effectively processing the harmonized data. Examines the unmet needs in chronic diseases as a part of medical data sharing Discusses ethical, legal and privacy issues as part of data protection Combines data harmonization and big data analytics strategies in shared medical data, along with relevant case studies in chronic diseases
Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacovigilance: Synergistic Tools to Better Investigate Drug Safety examines the role of pharmacoepidemiologic studies in drug development and its use as a prevention tool in pharmacovigilance activities. The book introduces the various epidemiologic tools and study designs commonly used for the surveillance of drug-related adverse effects and reviews the strengths and weaknesses of each. Criticisms surrounding pharmacoepidemiologic research and issues that often interfere or complicate the conduct and interpretation of these studies are also explored. Case studies illustrate the passive and active surveillance of adverse drug reactions in clinical situations, covering important pharmacoepidemiologic concepts like health risk management and safety. The book helps pharmaceutical industry groups engaged in drug safety, clinical investigators, medical evaluators and those seeking regulatory approval enhance the safety of the drug development process for all patient populations. Describes the main prevention tools for the passive and active surveillance of adverse effects associated with drugs Provides examples of diseases in various contexts related to clinical studies and the analysis of adverse drug reactions Offers case studies that illustrate real-life clinical situations Discusses important concepts related to pharmacoepidemiology and pharmacovigilance
This remarkable new book is the first text dedicated to the topic of pharmacovigilance for herbal and traditional medicines. Taking a truly global perspective, this volume draws together contributions from a diverse group of experts, writing on current knowledge and practices in pharmacovigilance for herbal and traditional medicines, and on advances and innovation in monitoring the safety of this unique and complex category of products and preparations. In part one, the book discusses the current status of pharmacovigilance for herbal and traditional medicines, including the importance of natural products chemistry to harms, and its relevance in considering how pharmacovigilance for these products could be undertaken
The book presents the results of an in-depth comparative study assessing the implementation of the EU Pharmacovigilance Directive in six EU Member States. By going beyond legal transposition and instead focusing on practical implementation, this study aims to close a gap in EU compliance research. Based on qualitative interviews with relevant actors in Germany, Poland, Portugal, France, Finland and the UK, the authors identify perceived challenges and best-practices, issue recommendations, and thereby contribute to a better understanding of the factors that incentivize or impede the practical implementation of EU law at the national level.
A Practical Guide to FDA's Food and Drug Law and Regulation, Seventh Edition by Stephen Kanovsky (Editor); Wayne Pines
Call Number: WA 697 P722 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
FDLI's popular reference book, A Practical Guide to FDA's Food and Drug Law and Regulation, Seventh Edition, provides an introduction to the laws and regulations governing development, marketing, and sale of FDA-regulated products, including a chapter dedicated to pharmacovigilance. Structured to serve as a reference and as a teaching tool, the book offers practical legal and regulatory fundamentals, and each chapter builds sequentially from the last to provide an accessible overview of the key topics relevant to practitioners of food and drug law and regulation. This book is a standard legal text in law schools and graduate regulatory programs and has been cited as a reference in judicial opinions (including the U.S. Supreme Court).
Quantitative Methodologies and Process for Safety Monitoring and Ongoing Benefit Risk Evaluation provides a comprehensive coverage on safety monitoring methodologies, covering both global trends and regional initiatives. Pharmacovigilance has traditionally focused on the handling of individual adverse event reports however recently there had been a shift towards aggregate analysis to better understand the scope of product risks. Written to be accessible not only to statisticians but also to safety scientists with a quantitative interest, this book aims to bridge the gap in knowledge between medical and statistical fields creating a truly multi-disciplinary approach that is very much needed for 21st century safety evaluation.
This book is intended to help decision-makers use, assess and appraise the evidence that underpins decisions about the use of therapeutic interventions. It will inform decision-makers about the nature of evidence, the strengths and weaknesses of the available approaches, and how these can be most effectively distilled for the purpose of reaching re
About the FDA, CDER, OSE, and Post Market Drug Safety