Skip to main content

Mobile Resources: Drug Information & Medical Apps

Mobile access instructions and apps for Drug Information databases and medical resources and tools.

Drug Information

Mobile access instructions for Drug Information and medical subscription based and free apps for ACPHS students, faculty, and staff.

Clinical Pharmacology

Access codes are good for one year (August-July) and may be obtained by current ACPHS students and faculty only. Sign up or renew by contacting us at library@acphs.edu.

Once you have obtained an access code:

  • Go to https://secure.goldstandard.com/subscribe/
  • Enter your 15-digit Access Code in the area provided, under "Shop Gold Standard." Enter this code only once. Do not select a Gold Standard program; this has been done for you by the access code. Click Submit.
  • If you are not already a registered user, please register now by clicking on "click here to register now". This will take you to the New Account Set-up screen.
  • Go to the New Account Set-up screen to enter your registration information including name, choice of Username and Password, etc. Click on Submit Information at the bottom.

To access Clinical Pharmacology Mobile from your device once you are registered, go to https://cpmobile.mobi and log in using the username and password you created. The content is always current because it's a mobile optimized website.

 

New! Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

 

 

Users with mobile devices will now be able to see all content when accessing The Cochrane Library through the library website.

 “Anywhere Systematic Review” is the new format in which Cochrane is publishing Cochrane Reviews.  You can click on the Cochrane icon above to go to the new site. Cochrane is now using a  “smart” format which automatically chooses the best possible format depending on the device you’re using.

Micromedex

 

Click on this link to go to Micromedex .

When you reach the Micromedex  page, click on  "Download Center" at the top right side of the page and follow the provided download instructions for your particular mobile device.  Access passwords are provided for each of the following Micromedex Apps.

  • Micromedex Free Drug Reference for Internet Subscribers
  • Micromedex Drug Interactions
  • Micromedex IV Compatibility

Please note: Use of Micromedex is for teaching and learning purposes only.

  

Natural Medicines

June 2016 Update:  Natural Medicines has not yet created a mobile interfact for subscribers.  There is a free app available, but it does not include subscriber content.

Pharmacists Letter

This resource is for ACPHS 3rd-6th year students, faculty and staff.  Please click on "All Resources" on the library homepage, then the letter,  P, then you will see instructions for activating a new account whether you are a student of an instructor/faculty member.

 

Once you have a Pharmacists Letter account,  login, and on the left side of the page,  click on the MOBILE tab for instructions.

Medical Letter

Go to Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics on our Databases by Title page.

Click on Mobile Apps on the left side of the page.  Follow the instructions for your device.

LexiComp OnHand

About Herbs

Memorial Sloan Kettering's About Herbs app is compatible with iPad®, iPhone®, and iPod Touch® devices. A web app version for all other mobile devices is also available.   In this app, the Integrative Medicine Service provides comprehensive, objective information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and complementary therapies..

Key feature:
More than 200 monographs describing the structure, purported uses, adverse effects, and drug interactions of various herbs, botanicals, supplements, and complementary therapies.

AccessPharmacy for your mobile device

To access the mobile optimized version of the site, go to AccessPharmacy  and click on the small down arrow to the right of “Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences” (which you should find in the upper right hand corner of the screen). There is an option to Login or Create a Free Personal Account.

If your device picks up our institutional WiFi network, you may be automatically granted access and routed to the mobile homepage.  If your device does not pick up our WiFi or if are offsite, you will be asked to login using your personal account username and password.

Devices which support the mobile optimized version of the site include the iPhone, Android devices, and BlackBerry Bold.

Medical Apps

 

 

IMedicalApps  is an online publication for medical professionals, patients, and analysts interested in mobile medical technology and health care apps.

 

http://www.medscape.com/public/mobileapp

Medscape is a resource which features peer-reviewed original medical journal articles, CME (Continuing Medical Educationdaily medical news, major conference coverage, and drug information—including a drug database (Medscape Drug Reference, or MDR) and drug interaction checker. 

MedlinePlus Mobile Health provides quick access to health topics,  drugs, a medical dictionary and current health news. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) released new versions of the MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en espanol mobile sites in October 2014

PubMed Mobile

The PubMed Mobile site: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/

PubMed Mobile provides a simplified mobile friendly Web interface to access PubMed. It includes  basic search functionality and content as standard PubMed. Autosuggest has been added to the query box. Related searches have been added to the summary display.

**PubMed Mobile does not direct you to access points for ACPHS full text resources** 

 

 

Access PDR Online

The Physician's Desk Reference is now available as a free eBook.  Access PDR online by going to the link below.  Scroll down to "Access PDR eBook on the Web", which is the recommended way to access the resource. When prompted for a code, use: U00496575 .   There are also instructions provided for access with your tablet.

NGC Guideline Summaries